Reading Choices

A couple friends have asked me how I decide what to read. For the most part, it’s random and I read whatever appeals to me! I am forever making up reading lists for myself and then just picking up whatever looks interesting at the moment.

A few years ago, I made a list of Books Everyone Should Read; I based the list on recommendations from a variety of sources and also listed books that I loved or were influential in my life. While I was working on that list, I wrote a post about a meme that was going around (100 Books: A short rant and a long post) and referenced several book lists there. Then I made up my List of Books I Should Read, and updated the list last year.

I try to read a variety of classic and modern fiction and non-fiction in various disciplines (Christian living, theology, history, education, literary analysis, psychology, science). I generally read Christian living type books in the morning as devotional literature and fiction or light non-fiction in the evening before going to bed. I usually read the lengthier, more difficult non-fiction works throughout the day as I have time.

This year, I am going to try to be a little more organized in my book reading. I want to read more from my List of Books I Should Read, so I am going to bring some of those books back to China with me next semester. I am also going to focus on specific topics in my devotional reading (holiness, missions, emotions) and non-fiction reading (China, biography/autobiography, teaching), and I plan to read more poetry and drama.

Here’s a sample of some of the books on my reading list for this year. As usual, my list is too long to be feasible, but it reflects my goals for the year and my plans to read more strategically.

Fiction

  • Douglas Adams: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  • Ray Bradbury: Something Wicked This Way Comes
  • Roald Dahl: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky: Crime and Punishment
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald: Babylon Revisited
  • Ralph Ellison: Invisible Man
  • William Faulkner: The Sound and the Fury
  • Robert Graves: I, Claudius
  • Joseph Heller: Catch-22
  • Earnest Hemingway: The Old Man and the Sea
  • Kazuo Ishiguro: The Remains of the Day
  • Rudyard Kipling:  Jungle Book
  • C.S. Lewis: Till We Have Faces
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Love In The Time Of Cholera
  • Audrey Niffenegger: The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Vladimir Nabokov: Lolita
  • Michael Ondaatje: The English Patient
  • Erich Maria Remarque: All Quiet on the Western Front
  • Salman Rushdie: The Satanic Verses
  • John Steinbeck: The Grapes of Wrath
  • Alexander Solzhenitsyn: The Gulag Archipelago
  • Leo Tolstoy: War and Peace
  • Edith Wharton: The Age of Innocence

Drama and Poetry

  • Eugene O’Neill: Long Day’s Journey into Night
  • George Bernard Shaw: Pygmalion
  • Tom Stoppard: Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead
  • T.S. Eliot
  • Robert Frost
  • Seamus Heaney
  • Gerard Manley Hopkins
  • John Milton

Non-fiction

  • Robert Alter: The Art of Biblical Narrative
  • George W. Bush: Decision Points
  • Iris Chang: The Rape of Nanking
  • Li Cheng: Song of a Wanderer
  • Malcolm Gladwell: David and Goliath
  • George Marsden: Jonathan Edwards
  • Eric Metaxas: Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy

Christian living

  • Jerry Bridges: Respectable Sins; The Disciplines of Grace; Pursuit of Holiness
  • D.A. Carson: The God Who Is There: Finding Your Place in God’s Story
  • Tim Challies: The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment
  • Bryan Chapell: Holiness by Grace
  • Nancy Leigh DeMoss: Surrender; Holiness
  • Elisabeth Elliot: The Path of Loneliness (re-read)
  • Ronald Horton: Moodtides (re-read)
  • D. Martyn Lloyd Jones: Spiritual Depression
  • Tim Keller: The Reason for God; The Freedom of Self-Forgetfulness
  • J.I. Packer: Knowing God
  • John Piper: Think: The Life of the Mind and the Love of God; When I Don’t Desire God: How to Fight for Joy; Let the Nations Be Glad! 
Leave a Reply

