‘Tis the Season for Book Lists: This Year’s Reading

‘Tis the season for reflective blog posts. And ’tis the season for posts about books.

This past year, I was particularly bad about recording the books I read, so I’ve had a hard time remembering all the books I read in 2012. In the past, I kept notes or wrote a blog post a month about my reading, so it was much easier to remember what I’d read and to pick out my favorites; however, this year, I wrote few posts about what I read. In addition, I am not at home, so I can’t peruse my shelves to remember what I read!

I read mostly Christian living type books, but read a few biographies,  non-fiction books (mostly about missions), and novels (unfortunately, several of the novels were a waste of time and not books I’d recommend, so I didn’t list them below). So, without further ado, here are some of the books that I read this year:

Christian Living:

  1. Practical Theology for Women: How Knowing God Makes a Difference in our Daily Lives by Wendy Alsup Horger
  2. Jesus + Nothing =Everything by Tullian Tchividjian
  3. Praying God’s Word by Beth Moore
  4. A Gospel Primer for Christians: Learning to See the Glories of God’s Love  by Milton Vincent
  5. King’s Cross by Timothy Keller
  6. Crazy Love by Francis Chan (reread)
  7. How People Change by Timothy Lane and Paul David Tripp (I’m not quite finished with this one yet, as we’re using it for our ladies’ Bible study, but I read most of it this year.)

Bible Studies:

  1. By His Wounds You are Healed: How the Message of Ephesians Transforms a Woman’s Identity by Wendy Alsup Horger
  2. The Message of Ephesians by John Stott
  3. The Wisdom of God by Nancy Guthrie

Fiction:

  1. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  2. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  3. Calico Joe by John Grisham
  4. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  5. War Horse by Michael Morpurgo
  6. The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy

Non-Fiction:

  1. The Shallows: How the Internet is Changing our Brains by Nicholas Carr
  2. In the Land of Invisible Women: A Female Doctor’s Journey in the Saudi Kingdom by Qanta A. Ahmed
  3. Running with Joy by Ryan Hall
  4. Cross-Cultural Connections by Duane Elmer
  5. Culture Shock! China by Angie Eagan and Rebecca Weiner
  6. China’s Christian Millions by Tony Lambert
  7. Teaching Cross-Culturally: An Incarnational Model for Learning and Teaching by Judith E. Lingenfelter and Sherwood G. Lingenfelter

  8. The Spiritual Secret of Hudson Taylor by Howard Taylor (reread)

Favorite books:

Favorite Books 2012

Leave a Reply

