Update on 40 before 40

Today I looked through my list of 40 things to do before I turn 40; I have a lot more to accomplish if I’m going to meet these goals! I crossed off the ones I did this year.
  1. Write a non-fiction book
  2. Write a book of poetry
  3. Write a hymn
  4. Read through my list of “books I should read” (coming soon to a blog near you) [note: I started on this, but I have a long way to go!]
  5. Get another master’s degree or a Ph.d.
  6. Get out of debt and stay out of debt (with the exception of a mortgage—see below)
  7. Buy my own place to live
  8. Volunteer at a shelter for women and children or a rescue mission
  9. Visit missionary friends and work in an orphanage in Africa
  10. Support an orphan
  11. Support a missionary
  12. Become a mentor and/or foster parent
  13. Learn how to play the guitar
  14. Learn to speak a language fluently
  15. Run a 1/2 marathon [note: I ran two 1/2 marathons last year–the Hafa Marathon on Guam and the Lake Placid 1/2 Marathon!]
  16. Run a 5k in less than 28 minutes [note: I ran a 5k in 28 minutes and some-odd seconds, but I didn’t get under 28 minutes. 😦 Better luck this year!]
  17. Run a marathon [note: I plan to run the Vermont City Marathon in May of this year.]
  18. Visit the empty tomb, the Temple Mount, and see the Dead Sea Scrolls
  19. Visit Petra and Amman, Jordan
  20. Ride the Eurail across Europe (a 21 day pass is $900–anyone want to donate?)
  21. Visit my friend Jodi when she’s a missionary in Spain
  22. Visit Andorra (with Jodi) and Luxembourg
  23. Climb one of the Swiss Alps
  24. Visit the Sistine Chapel and ride a gondola in Venice
  25. Visit England with a literary-minded friend and visit Stratford-Upon-Avon, the Globe Theater (and see a play), the Brontes’ home, Oxford, Cambridge, and  a host of other sites
  26. See the Mona Lisa at the Louvre
  27. Drive on the autobahn
  28. Walk on the Great Wall of China
  29. Go on a safari in Africa
  30. Run across the Golden Gate Bridge and run up a hill in San Francisco [side note: I walked across part of the Golden Gate Bridge but my fear of heights got to me, so I didn’t make it very far.]
  31. Hike a 10,000+ foot mountain near Lake Tahoe (if I visit in the summer) or ski at a resort there (if I visit in the winter) [note: I went to Lake Tahoe this year, but didn’t hike any mountains (it was still cold and snowy and since I visited mid-week, both my brother and sister-in-law had to work, so I guess I’ll have to visit again!]
  32. Take my mom to Colonial Williamsburg
  33. Visit the Grand Canyon
  34. Go on an Alaskan cruise
  35. See a Broadway musical
  36. See an opera at the Met (preferably one by Puccini)
  37. See Placido Domingo perform live (I hope he doesn’t completely retire before I get a chance to hear him!)
  38. See Evgeny Kissin perform live
  39. Skate in Rockefeller Park at Christmas time
  40. Learn how to use the manual settings on a nice camera (should do this before all the traveling)

Leave a comment