Book club starting again in January!

After the spectacular failure of the last book club choice, A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters, I was a bit hesitant to start another book! And then the holidays hit and it was impossible for me to organize another book club and adequately read and prepare for it. So, I’d like to start the book club going again in January.

New Book Club Titles

I’m open to suggestions for the next book. Here’s the list of books that I came up with last year, subtracting the ones we already read!

  1. Willa Cather: Death Comes for the Archbishop 
  2. Miguel de Cervantes: Don Quixote 
  3. Fyodor Dostoyevsky: Crime and Punishment 
  4. Margaret Mitchell: Gone With The Wind 
  5. Earnest Hemingway: The Old Man and the Sea 
  6. Kazuo Ishiguro: The Remains of the Day 
  7. Rudyard Kipling: Kim 
  8. Milan Kundera: The Unbearable Lightness of Being 
  9. Toni Morrison: Jazz 
  10. Salman Rushdie: The Satanic Verses, Midnight’s Children 
  11. John Steinbeck: East of Eden, The Grapes of Wrath 
  12. Edith Wharton: The Age of Innocence, The House Of Mirth 
Would you like to continue with these books or do you have others you’d like to suggest? Preferably ones none of us have read. I’m open to fiction and non-fiction, even though we’ve previously just read fiction.

New Book Club Reading Plan

Also, I previously haven’t had a very good plan for how to go about reading and discussing the books. I know that my friends and family members all read at different speeds, so it was hard for me to gauge how quickly people would read and how often I should post discussion questions. So, here’s what I propose: for the first two weeks of the month, we’ll read the book of the month; then, during the last two weeks of the month, I’ll post discussion questions and we’ll carry on the discussion online over at Novel Thoughts. If you need more time to read, that’s fine and you can continue reading while the discussion takes place, but I think this will help the faster readers plan when they’ll read the book.

Any suggestions? Ideas? Concerns? Praise?

Leave a Reply

