Agatha Christie Mysteries

The Murder at the Vicarage

I recently read Agatha Christie’s The Murder at the Vicarage. It was only the second Agatha Christie novel I’ve read; the first being And Then There Were None. I don’t know how I missed the Agatha Christie stage when I was growing up, but I somehow never read one of her books until I was teaching high school English!

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, which was the first of the Miss Marple stories. I liked Miss Marple’s character and the vicar, who was the protagonist of the story. The plot was interesting and I couldn’t figure out who the murderer was! I felt like Ms. Christie was toying with me as a reader, because as soon as I thought I had figured out who the murderer was, new information came to light that disproved that theory.

Do you have a favorite Agatha Christie novel that you’d recommend I read?

2 thoughts on “Agatha Christie Mysteries

  1. I read And Then There Were None years ago (and I plan on re-reading it next year) and recently I’ve been plowing my way through the Hercule Poirot novels.

    The best one that I’ve read so far is the first Poirot novel: The Mysterious Affair at Styles. Murder on the Orient Express was also a really good book.

    My only advice with reading Christie’s novels is that you pace yourself. I’ve read 7 of the Poirot novels this past year, and they’re very formulaic and I started to get a little burnt out on the novels.

    Another wonderful mystery writer is Carlos Ruiz Zafon. The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game are two of his books that I’ve read and they have fantastic characters, wonderful lines of dialogue, and interesting mysteries set in Barcelona in the mid 1900’s. I highly recommend his books.

    • Thank you for the suggestions, Adam. I’ve been wanting to read a Hercule Poirot book, so I’ll check out the first one.

      I hadn’t heard of Zafon before, but the books sound intriguing!

Leave a Reply

