The Five People You Meet in Heaven: What do you think?

First, how much of the book have you read so far? What do you think of it? Are you getting into the story quickly or is it slow going?

I’m trying to get a sense for where people are in the book. I have a suspicion that some have just started or haven’t started yet, while others have finished the book.

My general plan is to post a question every weekday for the next two weeks. Some questions will relate to the plot; others will relate to the themes or tangential issues. If you haven’t finished the book by the time I finish posting questions, that’s okay! Read at your own pace and then answer the questions as you get to that part of the story. I’ll post the link to each post under the book club tab, so you can find the Five People You Meet in Heaven questions easily.

10 thoughts on “The Five People You Meet in Heaven: What do you think?

  1. 1. I have read the entire book. :o)
    2. It’s interesting. Definitely different from my typical genre of choice. 🙂
    3. It took me a bit to get into the story. The switching back and forth from flashbacks in the far past to flashbacks of the accident to the “current” storyline was a bit disorienting. But it was definitely a quick read, much quicker than Things Fall Apart.

    • I’ve also finished reading the book and will reread it as I work on these discussion questions. I wanted to read it before starting this project instead of what I did last time . . . and read it after everyone else has finished!

      It also took me a little while to get into the story, but then I read quickly. I had to figure out what Albom was doing and then I could settle into it.

  2. Pingback: The Five People You Meet in Heaven: Writing Techniques « Chronicles of Natalie

  3. I am enjoying this second reading and find I would mark the same lines I did on the first reading. It is beautiful and poignant.

    I think of death as a transition and I am open to imaginative ideas of what could take place. I am one of those who think we have to make or recognize the heaven set before us on earth. I do not live to go to heaven someday, but to know God’s abundance in day to day life. I I think I am finding on this second reading that Eddie, because of the violence of war and other losses, gets stuck. This last is a tentative reflection.

  4. I’d read it before but had forgotten what happened; I just remembered liking it.

    So today I went and got the book – went to a thrift store less than a mile from my house on the off chance that it might be there, and there it was – for fifty cents! Yay!

    I jumped into it immediately and I’m reading it ravenously. I’d be done with it already if I didn’t have five children and a guest in my home! As it is, I’m up to the middle of the meeting with his second person, and I thought I’d come on here and start commenting.

  5. Pingback: The Five People You Meet in Heaven: Writing Techniques « Chronicles of Natalie

  6. Pingback: The Five People You Meet in Heaven: Writing Techniques « Reading Together

Leave a Reply

