Easter Poem: “Beneath Thy Cross”

“Beneath Thy Cross” by Christina Rossetti

Am I a stone, and not a sheep,
That I can stand, O Christ, beneath thy cross,
To number drop by drop Thy Blood’s slow loss,
And yet not weep?

Not so those women loved
Who with exceeding grief lamented Thee;
Not so fallen Peter weeping bitterly;
Not so the thief was moved;

Not so the Sun and Moon
Which hid their faces in a starless sky,
A horror of great darkness at broad noon–
I, only I.

Yet give not o’er,
But seek Thy sheep, true Shepherd of the flock;
Greater than Moses, turn and look once more
And smite a rock.

2 thoughts on “Easter Poem: “Beneath Thy Cross”

  1. Christina Rossetti is one of my favorite poets. Some day I want to have a volume of her complete works.

    This short and simple poem is amazingly complex from the contrast of “stone” and “sheep” in the beginning to the metaphor at the end. The message is powerful and deeply Biblical. “A horror of great darkness” is an awesome line too. I love both the sound and the sense of this poem.

    • I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by Christina Rossetti. I would also like a collection of her religious poetry, especially. Her relationship with God seems deeply personal and she communicates truth in a memorable way.

Leave a Reply

