Things Fall Apart: Chapters 6-10

There’s only one question this week from the discussion questions at Books@Random. This section serves to advance the plot and several stories have begun, but we haven’t found out their conclusions yet. Even with the sad story of Ikemefuma, I don’t think we’ve seen the full consequences of his death yet.

The threads of the story are related in a circular fashion, as opposed to a conventional linear time pattern. What effect does this impose on the tale of Ikemefuma? What effect does it have on the story of Ezinma?

4 thoughts on “Things Fall Apart: Chapters 6-10

  1. With both Ikemefuma’s and Ezinma’s stories, the circular nature of the narrative confuses my timeline a bit. I am quite used to telling stories in an orderly, structured manner, so hearing something in circular fashion almost makes me want to go back and write out the events in order so that I know how things really happened. The circular nature of both stories makes it seem as though the children are still a part of the narrative, even after Ikemefuma was killed. As I write this, the song “Circle of Life” from Disney’s The Lion King is stuck in my head. Perhaps that circular belief is part of the reasoning behind the circular story telling.

    The circular story telling also helps to remind me that other things were going on at the same time as the tragedies of these children. Life still happened. The sun still rose. The world didn’t stop to grieve after Ikemefuma’s death. This reminds me of the way that a grieving person can go through all the stages of grief and then repeat them throughout the grieving process. It seems that perhaps our emotions are as circular as this narrative.

  2. I had responded to this on ipad, but it did not go through. I like the circular method of story telling, although I do get lost at times. Although a novel, it seems more lkie a folk tale.
    It is a sad tale, yet resilency ( is that a word?) comies through.
    Jenni said it above in a beautiful manner, so for me enough said.

    • I’m sorry your first answer didn’t go through.

      I like your word–resiliency–to describe the characters at this point in the story. It does seem like Onkonkwo is resilient, strong, and powerful.

  3. The saddest section of the book! Oh how I wished Onkonkwo would be saddened to the point of repentance and change! Then poor Ikemefuma’s death may have had purpose.

Leave a Reply

