The 5 AM Club

So, how do we fit all this Bible reading, study, and prayer into our daily schedules? I’ve been much helped and encouraged by the 5 AM club started by the ladies at girltalk. Based on our Lord’s example of rising early to spend time with His Father and Mary’s example of sitting at Christ’s feet, this club encourages women to rise early to spend time at the feet of the Savior. I encourage you to take a look at some of the posts about the club and to establish a time each day for devotional time with the Lord. They also have a FAM club (Fast A Meal) to help you fast and pray for a family member’s salvation.

Now, you don’t have to wake up at 5 AM, but the general premise is to wake up before the rest of your family, or if you’re single, well before you need to get ready for your day, in order to have plenty of time to read and pray before the work day begins.

If it sounds difficult and like a big challenge–it is! But it is well worth it and you really can get into the routine and adjust your bedtime to accommodate the earlier mornings. Unfortunately, my wakeup time tends to shift from 5 to 5:30 to 6 as the semester goes on, but I’m going to renew my commitment to wake up at 5 to spend time with the Lord. I’ve found that if I wake up at 5, my quiet time is so much more focused and unhurried than when I push snooze until 5:30 or 6.

What is your plan for Bible reading and study? Do you like to read in the morning or evening or some other time?

4 thoughts on “The 5 AM Club

  1. 1. You’re posting more often – yay!
    2. You are including discusson questions – yay!
    3. I prefer to read in the morning, when I’m most awake and alert. However, I will also read in the middle of the afternoon or the late evening if I have the house to myself. :o)

    • Well, I don’t know how long this trend will continue, but during break I can post every day. 🙂 And I want people to leave comments, so I thought asking questions would be a good way to do that. I don’t have a corner on the market about Bible study (or any of the other topics I write about), so I am interested in what other people do.

  2. I must say this challenge is daunting when I think about all the precious sleep I will lose – yet what does that matter in eternity? Nowhere in the Bible does it state that we have to get a certain amount of sleep. Obviously our bodies need it, but I remember a preacher somewhere make the statement, “Mind over mattress” which has been difficult for me! I like to read in the morning. I may not be fully awake, but it’s the quietest and I’m not really thinking about all the other things I need to do. I’m definitely going to take time this weekend to read girltalk and the full challenge! Thanks for this Nat.

    • You’re welcome. Keep in mind you don’t have to get up at 5 AM to apply the same principle, but for me, I do need to aim for 5 (or at the latest 5:30) in order to have about an hour or so with the Lord before I get ready for school. It gets easier after a few days, and you’ll quickly find that the time is precious, so you won’t want to miss it. Getting up at 5 also helps me go to bed earlier; I’m most likely to waste time late in the evening and do unprofitable things, so it’s better to just go to bed and do something of eternal value in the morning.

Leave a Reply

