Christmas music, part 6

I purposefully saved this last topic for the end of the series, because I view Handel’s Messiah as the epitome of Christmas music. (Note: I realize it would have made a lot more sense to post this earlier in December, but I didn’t have time to pull all of these resources together earlier in December.) I purchased the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir’s recording this year and have enjoyed listening to it repeatedly. I love that the text of the Messiah is Scripture and that in 2 hours and 20 minutes the Messiah tells the story of the prophecies of Christ’s birth, His incarnation, His life, His death, His resurrection, His ascension, His power to break us free of sin, and His second coming. What a wonderful way to tell this amazing and incredible story!

Today, I just want to list some resources for you as you read about, listen to, or sing along with Handel’s Messiah.

I have fond memories of going to Messiah sings with my dad and of the performances and annual sings in my voice performance class at BJU. If you’re interested, you can get a free score here.

I’ve also found these websites helpful whenever I want to look something up about the Messiah: the program notes on National Public Radio, the program notes from the Oratorio Society of New York, and the very thorough notes and textual comparisons on Minnesota Public Radio.

This month, the audiobook Handel’s Messiah by Calvin R. Stapert is free on christianaudio.com (sorry for the late notice!).

You may have already seen this video (since the one I’m posting has had over 6,800,000 hits), but I get goosebumps every time I watch it. It’s amazing to hear such glorious praise to God being sung in this cathedral-like shopping center.

This one is pretty cool too and has had over 28,000,000 hits!

Leave a Reply

