Bible Study Plans

At the beginning of each year, I like to map out what Bible studies I’m going to do, in addition to whatever “read through the Bible in a year” plan I choose. I’ve found this helps me stay a little more focused, rather than randomly choosing passages or skipping Bible study days because I don’t have a particular topic in mind. I am quite flexible with this plan, though, because sometimes I face a particular temptation or want to study a certain passage or aspect of Christ’s character that I didn’t plan on.

For the past few years, I’ve found it profitable to use John MacArthur’s series of Bible studies. We’ve used them in Sunday School or I’ve used them on my own. This year I’d like to study these books of the Bible: Galatians, Ephesians, Romans, Revelation. These studies are designed to complete in 12 weeks, but I can generally do two lessons a week. I rotate these studies with topical studies or other Bible study books.

I’d like to do topical studies on various emotions, the fruit of the Spirit, and women of the Bible.

I also really like Beth Moore’s Bible studies and would like to read her book Praying God’s Word and the study Stepping Up: A Journey through the Psalms of Ascent. For a Christmas present, my mom gave me Nancy Leigh DeMoss’s book Choosing Gratitude, so I’d like to read that book and work through the study guide for that as well.

What books of the Bible would you like to study this year? What topical studies or book studies do you have planned?

6 thoughts on “Bible Study Plans

  1. I LOVED “Choosing Gratitude” by DeMoss. That is an excellent book! I love the fact that you plan out your year. I’ve never done that and am amazed that it’s never occurred to me to do that. I have several books sitting on my shelves that are unread….what a great way to plan out my Bible studies for the year. Thanks for the tip!

    • I’m looking forward to reading Choosing Gratitude; thanks for the confirmation that it’s a good book. I read Choosing Forgiveness a couple years ago and it really helped me, so I think I’m going to read Choosing Gratitude first this year.

      I started planning out my reading more intentionally a couple of years ago and it has helped me actually read through a lot more of the books on my shelf. I try to read a few pages or a chapter of a Christian living book in the mornings along with my devotional materials to systematically work through more books. While I do love reading, I’ve found that I still need to plan out when and what I want to read or I’ll just watch tv or do something mindless.

  2. We’re doing Hosea in my Bible study group, and I would like to do Romans on my own, as well as continuing through the stack of books I’m already flying through. None of those is a Bible study, but they have been very helpful and thought-provoking.

    I haven’t grabbed an actual Bible study book to use this year yet, but I have thought about it.

    • I studied Romans last year in the HBBC class I audited, but I’d like to go through it slowly on my own. And I’d like to memorize chapters 6-8; I’ve started several times and never finished.

      What Bible study books have you thought about for this year?

  3. Personal devotions wise I will be using “Strong in the Lord: Setting Up Safeguards”
    Along with that will be various Bible studies like Beth Moore’s “David”, Priscilla Shirer’s “Jonah”, and David Platt’s “Radical”. I will also be continuing the “Pursuing Spiritual Transformation” series by John Ortenberg, Laurie Pederson, and Judson Poling. After finishing all of these, I am unsure what I will do next, but just between Beth Moore and Priscilla Shirer there is always enough studies to stay busy for a year or more!
       

    I really enjoyed Beth Moore’s Esther and Priscilla Shirer’s Discerning Gods Voice. Some friends recommended some of Joyce Meyers studies to me, but personally I did not like them
     

    • Sounds good! Thank you for the recommendations. I went through Beth Moore’s study of Esther last year and learned a lot. I’ve never heard of Priscilla Shirer’s studies before, but I’ll check them out.

      I started reading Joyce Meyers’s Battlefield of the Mind and didn’t finish it because I had some theological concerns about her teaching.

Leave a Reply

