Start your New Year’s Resolutions Early!

I recently read about starting your New Year’s resolutions early, so this morning I figured out a Bible reading and study plan, created a budget, and determined my exercise and reading goals. I have a couple other plans for this year that I need to think through some more, but I had already been thinking about these things during the month of December, so I thought, “Why not start early?”

I wouldn’t call the things I listed new resolutions, because I strive to be disciplined in these areas all the time, but I needed to refocus and make a plan for how I want to accomplish these things. Some of my goals for this year include reading the ESV in one year; making extra payments on my school bill, so I can finish paying it off before May; running a 1/2 marathon in February; and reading a book a week.

What are some of your New Year’s resolutions? Do you have any brand-spanking new resolutions, or are you like me and resolve to do the same things every year!

2 thoughts on “Start your New Year’s Resolutions Early!

  1. You beat me to the New Year’s resolutions post! I was going to post on that today; I guess I’ll wait and post it later once I’ve figured out what exactly I want to say.

    :o) My new year’s resolutions are pretty much the same as my normal goals, and very similar to yours. I’m still formulating my “40 before 40” list and think I’ll focus on that instead of specific resolutions for this year. :o)

    • I’ve had the same basic classification of goals every year for the past 5 or 6 years, but I have made progress and some of those things have changed slightly. For example, I’m now training for a half-marathon when my goal used to be to just exercise, and I’m now budgeting and saving for specific purposes rather than just creating a budget or setting up a savings account.

      I like the 40 before 40 list idea, and I’ll have to think about that one. I look forward to seeing your list.

Leave a Reply

