Christmas music, part 2

I love that there’s such a great variety of Christmas songs and styles of performing them. I’ve been wanting to post a list of my favorite Christmas songs/cds for a while now. First comes the list of old favorites (from my childhood or long-time favorites), then a list of new songs I’ve become acquainted with in the last year or two. I’ve just lumped all secular and sacred songs together for now.

Old favorites, listed in no particular order:

  1. “White Christmas” by Bing Crosby–This is a classic! I love the movie, too, and watch it several times every Christmas.
  2. “Jingle Bells” by Frank Sinatra
  3. “The Christmas Song” by Nat King Cole–I don’t know if anyone can beat the original recording.
  4. Noel by Canadian Brass–I love the whole cd, but especially “God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen,” “The Holly and the Ivy,” “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring,” “Tuba Lullaby” and “Happy Christmas”
  5. The Nutcracker Suite by Tchaikovsky
  6. Handel’s Messiah
  7. A Little Christmas Music by The King’s Singers–I especially like “Here We Come A-Wassailing,” “Riu, Riu, Chiu,” “Ding Dong Merrily on High,” and “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen” (“Lo! How a Rose E’er Blooming”).  The King’s Singers do some neat arrangements of familiar carols and introduce listeners to older carols or songs from other countries and traditions.
  8. “Sleigh Ride” as recorded on the Boston Pops’s Holiday Pops

New favorites, again listed in no particular order:

  1. Noel by Josh Groban–I like “Little Drummer Boy,” “Angels We Have Heard on High,” “Petit Papa Noël,” “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear,” “The First Noël,” and “O Come All Ye Faithful.”
  2. “O Holy Night” by Il Divo–big, powerful arrangement
  3. “Born That We May Have Life” by Chris Tomlin
  4. Savior by Sovereign Grace Ministries
  5. “O Come” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” by Chris Sligh
  6. “Mary, Did You Know” by Clay Aiken
  7. Selected songs from All I Want for Christmas by Straight No Chaser, for example, “The 12 Days of Christmas,” “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch,” “Sweet Little Jesus Boy,” “Auld Lang Syne,” “Sleigh Ride,” “Christmastime is Here”
  8. New Irish Hymns #3-Incarnation by Joanne Hogg, Kristyn Getty & Margaret Becker–I love all the songs on this cd and we’ve sung several at church this year.
  9. “Pat-a-Pan” by David Archuleta
  10. Peace by Jim Brickman–I especially like “Peace” and “Rejoice”

What are some of your favorite Christmas songs and recordings?

6 thoughts on “Christmas music, part 2

  1. “Walk Through Bethlehem” by Trisha Yearwood
    “It Wasn’t His Child” by Trisha Yearwood
    “And the Angels Sang” by Reba McEntire

    anything on the Christmas CD by Casting Crowns

    • Hmm, I don’t know the first three–I’ll have to check them out. I meant to put “I heard the bells on Christmas Day” by Casting Crowns on my list, but forgot! I really like that one too.

      • THAT’s the song I was looking for – I couldn’t remember the title, and I was at work, so I didn’t want to pull the CD out of the stereo just to check the title.

        Steven Curtis Chapman has a good Christmas CD, too. “All I Really Want For Christmas” is one of my other favorites.

        This was a hard question! I like too many Christmas songs to have favorites.

        I didn’t add the silly ones, either:

        “I want a Hippopatomus for Christmas”
        “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer”
        etc.

        The hippo one is my favorite silly song. It’s just so … silly.

      • Well, I have some silly songs on my list. I decided against making separate lists for classical/serious, classical/silly, popular/serious, popular/silly, sacred performed in a classical style, and sacred performed in any other style. It was too confusing, so I just listed all favorites as they came to mind without worrying about genre or style.

  2. My all-time favorite Christmas arrangement- “The Wexford Carol” on the King’s Singers “A Little Christmas Music.” I love how the music builds until the big moment on “a princely babe, sweet Jesus born.” So powerful–definitely a “goosebump moment.”

    All time favorite Christmas CD- “The Carpenter’s Christmas Portrait.” I grew up on it, plus I love the purity of Karen Carpenter’s voice.

    • I like the King’s Singers cd in general–so many beautiful arrangements! And somehow, after years of living with you, I still don’t think I’ve ever heard The Carpenters! (Unless maybe I’ve forgotten . . .Can I borrow it?)

Leave a Reply

