Teaching and Preaching Notes

When I have a student teacher or when I’m talking with another English teacher about how I manage my classroom, I like to emphasize that my way’s not the only right way to do things. Teachers (and preachers) need to develop their own methods of researching, taking notes, and delivering lessons. When I was first learning to teach, my mentor encouraged me to be flexible and try various techniques until I hit on the one that worked for me.

I also learned much from looking at lesson plans on line; I realized that teachers organize their lessons in a variety of ways and develop different strategies for teaching the material. I also found that I always had to adapt another teacher’s lesson plans for my classroom, because the focus or style of the lesson wasn’t quite “me,” and, of course, directly copying the lesson would be plagiarizing.

I found it interesting to read this series of posts about the manuscripts of several preachers. I’ve heard most of them preach before and I’m a little bit nerdy about stylistic analysis, so I could have guessed at what their manuscripts look like, but I thought Keller’s was the most interesting/unusual and Driscoll’s was the most surprising (though, I’ve heard him speak at other times about his sermon preparation and it seems like sometimes he spends more time writing notes).

Leave a Reply

