Things I’m Thankful For

Spiritual blessings (Eph. 1:3-4)

1. The Gospel–I’m thankful for salvation through Christ Jesus and that He continues to save me from my sins (I Cor. 15:1-3). I’m thankful for a renewed understanding of and appreciation for the Gospel.

2. God’s grace and mercy–Except for God’s grace, I would be lost in my sin (Eph. 2:8-9). Except for God’s grace, I would have no interest in spiritual things or have any growth in godliness at all.

3. God’s Word–The Bible is alive, powerful, and able to change lives (Heb. 4:12, II Timothy 3:16)

4. God’s forgiveness–Because of Jesus Christ’s death on the cross and resurrection from the dead, I have been forgiven and justified before God (Romans 3:25-27).

Family

1. My parents–I am thankful my parents were saved before I was born. They raised me in a godly family, encouraged me to love and serve God, sacrificed for a Christian school education, and led by example.

2. My brothers, Nate, Ben, and Zeke–My brothers are all living for the Lord and serving Him in their respective vocations. I’m thankful Nate and Ben both married godly women who love them and edify them. I’m thankful for Zeke, who is working hard in school to become a Marine Corps officer and hopefully a pilot; his discipline and dedication are an inspiration to me. (He’s also a marathoner.)

3. My niece, McKenna–McKenna is such a special little girl and I’m so thankful that the Lord miraculously protected her during her birth and preserved her life. I can’t wait to meet her (hopefully this summer!).

Friends

1. The Filipiaks and Abels–Both of these families invited me to spend Thanksgiving with them, and I enjoyed the time of fellowship and relaxation with them.

2. Friends on Guam–Elizabeth, Karen, Leah, Julie and so many others challenge me to think biblically and are a constant source of encouragement to me.

3. Friends in distant places–Jenni, Dawn, Jodi, Joanna–Even if communication is sporadic or infrequent, these friends have kept in touch and encourage me from afar. Each one challenges me in specific ways and have been such a help and blessing to me.

4. My students–While not friends, my students don’t fit in any other category . . . I’m thankful for the many things I’ve learned from my students and I’m thankful for the privilege of teaching them. God has used my students to teach me many lessons.

Common graces

1. Books–I love to read almost any type of writing: fiction, poetry, Christian living, history, political science, economics, science. Books are so comforting and edifying.

2. Music–I love music of all kinds. I enjoy listening to the same song over and over, analyzing each line of harmony and accompaniment (weird, I know). I like analyzing the words and philosophy of a song. I’m thankful for the things I’ve learned about God and man through listening to music.

3. The internet–I’m thankful for this means of communicating God’s Truth, of interacting with friends, and even seeing family and friends who are tens of thousands of miles away.

4. Coffee and tea–There’s nothing like curling up with a good book and a warm beverage for a relaxing afternoon.

5. Sleep–I don’t get enough of this, but I’m thankful for what I do get!

One thought on “Things I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

