Some thoughts on the rescue of the Chilean miners

I’ve been following the coverage of the rescue of the miners in Chile. Chills went up my spine as I read of the first miner being pulled from the earth and I showed a short clip of the live feed to my 12th grader English class. It was thrilling to hear the excitement in the newscaster’s voice, even though I couldn’t understand a word he was saying. I’ve enjoyed watching the coverage (when I can get it to stream) and I’ve checked the CNN blog at least a dozen times today.

The more I thought about the rescue, the more I started to see spiritual parallels. As I tried to imagine the darkness and claustrophobia of the underground cavern the miners were trapped in, Psalm 40:1-2 came to mind: “I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.” Jesus Christ lifted me out of a dark pit of sin and shame and saved me. He rescued me spiritually, just as these miners are being rescued physically from 2,000 feet under the earth.

Three rescue workers were lowered into the mine to assist the rescue operation and to ensure the miners’ safety as they board the capsule. Jesus Christ came to earth to rescue sinners like me. He didn’t just conduct a rescue operation from the safety of heaven. He entered into this world, participated fully in the joys and sorrows of humanity, was tempted in all points like I am–but without sinning, was separated from the Father and died a horrible, painful death to demonstrate His love for me and to satisfy God’s demands for righteousness on my behalf. Jesus Christ rescued me!

As each miner reaches the surface of the earth, his family members joyfully hug and kiss him, sirens blare, and the whole world breathes a collective sigh of relief. “I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent” (Luke 15:7). Jesus rejoices greatly to save one of His lost, wandering, beloved ones. All of heaven rejoices with Him every time a sinner repents!

As I continue to watch this marvelous rescue attempt unfold, I pray that God will prevent any tragedies and that each man will be reunited with his family and friends. I pray that God will use the difficulties of the last 68 days to draw the miners closer to Him and that many others will see God’s love and understand more of His grace and mercy through this rescue work.

One thought on “Some thoughts on the rescue of the Chilean miners

  1. Thank you, Natalie, for sharing your thoughts – I like the parallels you drew between the workers’ physical salvation and our spiritual salvation. What an amazing God we serve, who was willing to come down to rescue us from the darkness!

Leave a Reply

