Books I read in January-May 2010

Well, I have a lot of catching up to do! I don’t remember exactly when I read these books, and I’m pretty sure I read more, but here are the books I remembered to write down.

Christian Living

Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris

Josh Harris emphasizes the importance of studying doctrine and building your life on the foundation of God’s Word. Written in a conversational and accessible style, Josh makes deep doctrines understandable and uses his personal spiritual journey as an example. I was challenged to study these doctrines in more depth and appreciated reading of the process Josh went through in his spiritual growth and understanding.

The Prodigal God by Timothy Keller

Prod-i-gal, adj. 1. Recklessly extravagant; 2. Having spent everything

This is a wonderful book and I benefited greatly from reading it. Tim Keller tells the story of the Prodigal Son, emphasizing God’s prodigal grace and love. I will be rereading this book soon and I highly recommend it.

Jesus, Keep Me Near the Cross edited by Nancy Guthrie

I read these meditations on Christ’s death and resurrection during the weeks leading to Easter.

Fifty Reasons Jesus Came to Die by John Piper and The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I listened to these audiobooks in the weeks leading up to Easter. Both are excellent and very helpful for meditating on Christ’s sacrifice on the cross.

Fiction

Ends of the Earth by Tim Downs

I love anything by TIm Downs and this latest installment in the Bug Man series was a great read!

Sinner and Saint by Ted Dekker and House by Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti

Each of these is a quick read and is pretty interesting. House was freaky, and I don’t think I’ll ever read a thriller again.

Leave a Reply

