Books I Read in December 2009

I’m extremely far behind in posting about the books I’ve read, so I’m attempting to catch up with some short reviews and maybe I’ll go back and fill in some details later. I read or finished these books in December 2009.

Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus edited by Nancy Guthrie

I enjoyed reading these selections from sermons about Christ’s incarnation in preparation for Christmas.

Culture Shift by Al Mohler

I appreciated Dr. Mohler’s Biblical perspective on current events.

Mudhouse Sabbath by Lauren Winner

Lauren Winner converted to Christianity from Orthodox Judaism. In this books she explains some Jewish practices that would be helpful for Christians to consider. Since reading this book, I’ve sought to practice my own “sabbath” from Saturday night to Sunday after church, so I can rest and prepare for the worship and services on Sunday.

Vintage Jesus by Mark Driscoll and Gerry Breshears

I referenced this book quite a bit as I wrote my Christmas meditations. In many ways, I liked the research and style of this book, but I sometimes thought the humor was inappropriate and unnecessary. I recommend Tim Challies’s in-depth review of this book.

How to Pray: The Best of John Wesley on Prayer

Meditations on prayer collected from John Wesley’s writings.

Winning the Inner War: How to Say No to a Stubborn Habit by Erwin Lutzer

I read this book for a counseling class I took in the fall of 2009, and it was very good.

Leave a Reply

