Easter Meditations: Tuesday of Holy Week

Tuesday of Holy Week – Events and Passages:

The disciples see the withered fig tree on the return to Jerusalem – Matthew 21:20-22, Mark 11:20-21

Temple controversies in Jerusalem – Matthew 21:23-23:39, Mark 11:27-12:44, Luke 20:1-21:4

Olivet Discourse on the return to Bethany – Matthew 24:1-25:46, Mark 13:1-37, Luke 21:5-36

“He Set His Face to go to Jerusalem”

“When Jesus set his face to walk the Calvary road, he was not merely taking our place; he was setting our pattern. He is substitute and pacesetter. If we seek to secure our life through returning evil for evil or surrounding ourselves with luxury in the face of human need, we will lose our life. We can save our life only if we follow Christ on the Calvary road” (p. 19).

Adapted from “He Set His Face to go to Jerusalem,” sermon by John Piper, Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis, April 4, 1982. Excerpted from Jesus, Keep Me Near the Cross, edited by Nancy Guthrie.

Rock of Ages

By Augustus M. Toplady, 1776

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee;
Let the water and the blood,
From Thy wounded side which flowed,
Be of sin the double cure,
Save from wrath and make me pure.

Not the labor of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
Could my zeal no respite know,
Could my tears forever flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.

Nothing in my hand I bring,
Simply to Thy cross I cling;
Naked, come to Thee for dress;
Helpless, look to Thee for grace;
Foul, I to the fountain fly;
Wash me, Savior, or I die.

While I draw this fleeting breath,
When my eyes shall close in death,
When I rise to worlds unknown,
And behold Thee on Thy throne,
Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee.

Leave a Reply

