Easter Meditations-“The Divine Dilemma”

If you haven’t read Living the Cross Centered Life yet, I recommend you purchase and read it immediately. If you live on Guam, you can borrow my copy. The truths of this book will change your life–at least, they did mine.

Christ Our Mediator was published a few years before Living the Cross Centered Life and a few of the chapters were reprinted in the longer book. My roommate borrowed Living the Cross Centered Life while off-island, so I’m actually going to quote from Christ Our Mediator. You probably don’t care as much as I do about the reasons, but I told you all that because the page numbers refer to Christ Our Mediator.

Romans 3 (ESV)

3 What if some were unfaithful? Does their faithlessness nullify the faithfulness of God? 4 By no means! Let God be true though every one were a liar, as it is written,

“That you may be justified in your words,
and prevail when you are judged.”

5 But if our unrighteousness serves to show the righteousness of God, what shall we say? That God is unrighteous to inflict wrath on us? (I speak in a human way.) 6 By no means! For then how could God judge the world? 7 But if through my lie God’s truth abounds to his glory, why am I still being condemned as a sinner? 8And why not do evil that good may come?—as some people slanderously charge us with saying. Their condemnation is just.

9 What then? Are we Jews any better off? No, not at all. For we have already charged that all, both Jews and Greeks, are under sin, 10as it is written:

“None is righteous, no, not one;
11no one understands;
no one seeks for God.
12All have turned aside; together they have become worthless;
no one does good,
not even one” . . . .

19 Now we know that whatever the law says it speaks to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be stopped, and the whole world may be held accountable to God. 20For by works of the law no human being will be justified in his sight, since through the law comes knowledge of sin.

“The Divine Dilemma”

“For God, the divine dilemma comes about because He isn’t indifferent to any of this sinfulness on mankind’s part. He is, in fact, righteously and furiously opposed to every bit of it. He cannot simply overlook or excuse it. In light of His holiness and justice, He has no alternative but to punish sin and punish the sinner. In our court systems, a judge who simply overlooked people’s offenses and “just forgave” them would quickly be kicked off the bench. God is righteous, and must do what is right in punishing unrighteous sin.

And yet, as Paul informs us, God “desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.”

God’s desire is to save—but how can He rescue anyone?” (p. 33)

From Christ Our Mediator, by C.J. Mahaney, Multnomah, 2004.

And Can It Be!

By Charles Wesley, 1738

And can it be that I should gain
An interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain—
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

’Tis mystery all: th’Immortal dies:
Who can explore His strange design?
In vain the firstborn seraph tries
To sound the depths of love divine.
’Tis mercy all! Let earth adore,
Let angel minds inquire no more.
’Tis mercy all! Let earth adore;
Let angel minds inquire no more.

He left His Father’s throne above
So free, so infinite His grace—
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!
’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!

Long my imprisoned spirit lay,
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quickening ray—
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

Still the small inward voice I hear,
That whispers all my sins forgiven;
Still the atoning blood is near,
That quenched the wrath of hostile Heaven.
I feel the life His wounds impart;
I feel the Savior in my heart.
I feel the life His wounds impart;
I feel the Savior in my heart.

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine;
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

2 thoughts on “Easter Meditations-“The Divine Dilemma”

  1. Wow! You’re a wordpress girl. I hadn’t realized that. You are braver than me. I know I could learn but there are so many things I want to do at once.

    Thanks for the comment and recommendation!

    • I recently switched my blog over to WordPress because I like the layout and the more flexible editing options. I was having a hard time getting Blogger to do what I wanted. Thanks for stopping by my blog too!

Leave a Reply

