Alexander Solzhenitsyn

One of my favorite Russian authors, Alexander Solzhenitsyn, passed away on August 4, 2008. I was first introduced to his short stories in Modern Literature, and the simple, beautiful story with haunting images sent me on a hunt for his novels. I was not disappointed. Cancer Ward and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch left a profound impression on me and encouraged me to read other Russian authors. I currently have several other novels by Solzhenitsyn on my bookshelf that I look forward to reading: August 1914, The First Circle, and The Gulag Archipelago.

To read a nice tribute and biography of Solzhenitsyn, click here.

One thought on “Alexander Solzhenitsyn

Leave a Reply

