January Book Review

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to read a book a week. I did well the first two weeks of January, but then got a little off-track later in the month. (More on that later.)

Grendel by John Gardner
I love Beowulf, so I was excited to read this retelling from Grendel’s point of view. Gardner captures the sense of the Old English language (which I love), but he also uses the postmodern techniques of stream of consciousness and multi-genre writing to good effect. At times, the language and story are revoltingly jarring and Grendel exemplifies anti-Christian, existential philosophy. Grendel spends much of the book raging against God and against the society that has rejected him.
Grade: C

Did I Kiss Marriage Goodbye? Trusting God with a Hope Deferred by Carolyn McCulley
Excellent book. A well-written, encouraging book for Christian single women. I especially appreciated her discussions of the Proverbs 31 woman and the single woman’s role in the church.
Grade: A

I almost never read more than one book at a time because I get distracted when I do that, but for some reason I started three books at once at the end of January. Therefore, I still haven’t finished any of them. (I’m pretty close with a couple, though.) I’ll review the books in my “February Book Review” when I finish them.

Books I started reading in January:
Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey
Because this book came highly recommended by my brother who recently followed Ramsey’s advice and got out of debt exceedingly quickly, I bumped this book up on my reading list and tackled his “baby steps” plan immediately.

Culture Warrior by Bill O’Reilly
Very interesting read, but sometimes O’Reilly rants self-righteously and defensively and excessively.

The Ode Less Travelled: Unlocking the Poet Within by Stephen Fry
Stephen Fry is an excellent non-fiction, fiction, and poetry writer. Just the foreword and “How to Read this Book” sections had me in stitches and pleased me with the pleasant phrasing.

One thought on “January Book Review

  1. Hi Natalie, If you enjoy reading may I suggest a title? “Outcasts of Skagaray” by Andrew Clarke. Published by Musterion Press. I would be interested to hear your opinion of it. For more details, see http://www.threeswans.com.au As a female reader, do you find the female characters convincing?

Leave a Reply

